Chariton Community School Board Regular Session October 14, 2019

The Chariton Community School District met in regular session on October 14, 2019, in the Administration Office Board Room. A public hearing was held at 6:30 pm to receive public comment regarding the proposed Instructional Support Levy. No one was present to address the board. The regular meeting was called to order by Board President, Dusty Cain at 6:31 pm. Board members present were Dusty Cain, President, presiding, Kellie Gookin, Vice President, Todd Jensen, Sarah Willis and Kyle Curtis. Also present were Superintendent Larry Achenbach, Board Secretary, Kylie Dittmer and Transportation Director, Corey Johnson.

Good News was shared by the board.

Visitors were welcomed. Jennifer Ruth addressed the board about safety concerns at the Middle School.

Board Agenda

Mr. Jensen made a motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 5-0.

Consent Agenda

A motion was made by Mr. Curtis to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 5-0. The following was included in the consent agenda:

- 1. Minutes from September 9, 2019
- 2. Building Rentals
 - a. DXP—High School Gym for Dance Fest
 - b. DXP -Johnson Auditorium for Dance Recital
 - c. Lucas County Arts Council—Johnson Auditorium and High School Band Room for Community Big Band performances and rehearsals
 - d. Chariton Volleyball Club—Middle School Gym
 - e. Chariton Volunteer Fire Department—Van Allen cafeteria and kitchen for banquet
- 3. Open Enrollment
 - a. One student in from Wayne due to family relocation
 - b. One student out to Wayne due to previous Wayne attendance
- 4. Resignations
 - a. Vicki Sims as Associate
 - b. Shelly Schilling as Food Server
- 5. Contracts/Letters of Intent
 - a. Kristine Young as part time Associate at Van Allen
 - b. Linda Cowen as part time Food Server
 - c. Jacob Nethers as Middle School AssistantFootball Coach
 - d. Tyler Nance as Middle School Wrestling Coach
 - e. Nicci Chandler as Wrestling Cheer Sponsor
- 6. Secretary's Reports and Bills

Action Items

Ms. Gookin made a motion to approve the modified allowable growth and supplemental aid for the special education deficit for the 2018-2019 fiscal year. The deficit approved was \$99,366.79. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the fiscal year 2018-2019 Certified Annual Report, Special Education Supplement and Annual Transportation Report that was filed on September 16, 2019. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Jensen made a motion to approve the first reading of Board Policy's 300-302: School Administration Objectives. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Jensen made a motion to approve a proposal to have private schools reclassified. Ms. Gookin seconded this motion. A roll call vote was taken with all board members voting yes.

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve out of state travel for FBLA to travel to Denver, Colorado in November for the FBLA National Fall Leadership Conference. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Jensen made a motion to approve out of state travel for Diane Tordoff to attend the Midwest Clinic Band Conference in Chicago, Illinois in December. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Curtis made a motion to approve the first reading of the Certified Staff Early Retirement policy 407.6. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the first reading of the Classified Staff Early Retirement Policy 413.6. Motion carried, 5-0.

Reports, Communications and Announcements

Committee reports were given.

Principal and Superintendent reports were given.

Closed Session

A motion was made by Mr. Cain to go in to closed session as provided in the Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(1)(i) to evaluate the professional competency of individuals with whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered with necessary to prevent needless or irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session. Roll call vote was taken with Cain, Gookin, Jensen, Willis and Curtis voting yes. Motion carried, 5-0.

The board returned to open session at 8:35 pm.

Dusty Cain, Board President	Kylie Dittmer, Board Secretary	