Chariton Community School Board Regular Session January 10, 2022

The Chariton Community School District met in regular session on January 10, 2022, in the Administration Office Board Room. The regular meeting was called to order by Board President, Casey DeHoedt at 6:30 pm. Board members present were Sarah Willis, Vice President (arrived at 6:32), Jamie Aulwes (arrived at 6:34), Stephanie Clark and Dustin Shivvers. Also present were Superintendent Larry Achenbach, Board Secretary and Business Manager, Kylie Dittmer and Transportation and Building and Grounds Director, Corey Johnson.

Good news was shared by the board.

Visitors were welcomed. There was no one present to address the board.

Board Agenda

Ms. Clark made a motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 3-0.

Focus on Education

Letisha Pruitt from Indian Hills Community College presented on the IHCC Career Academy for Health Sciences at Chariton High School.

Consent Agenda

A motion was made by Mr. Shivvers to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 5-0. The following was included in the consent agenda:

- 1. Approval of Minutes from December 13, 2021 and December 20, 2021
- 2. Building Rentals
 - a. Luke Willis—CMS Gym for Chariton Smasher Softball and Charger Baseball
- 3. Open Enrollment
 - a. One student in from Southeast Warren for the 2022-2023 school year, met the deadline
- 4. Resignations
 - a. Emmie Alexander as part time Associate
 - b. Chasity Gibson as part time Associate
 - c. Jaclyn Erickson as High School Science Teacher
 - d. Bethany Lahart as Title I Teacher at Columbus
 - e. Makenzie Matt as 3rd Grade Teacher
 - f. Anna Ryder Mason as Elementary School Counselor
 - g. Bob Cain as Head Girls Track Coach
- 5. Contracts/Letters of Intent
 - a. Sara Neavor as Elementary Counselor
 - b. Eli Horton as Head Girls Track Coach
 - c. Sue Curnutte as Mentor
- 6. Secretary's Reports and Bills

Action Items

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the final reading of Board Policy 502—Students Rights and Responsibilities and 503—Student Discipline. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Shivvers made a motion to approve the final reading of Board Policy 505.8—Title I Parent and Family Engagement. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Aulwes made a motion to approve the first reading of Board Policy 504—Student Activities and 505—Student Scholastic Achievement. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Clark made a motion to approve the Modified Allowable Growth Dropout Prevention Application for \$244,360. Motion carried, 5-0.

No action was taken pertaining to the OSHA vaccination and testing mandate and adopt Board Policy 403.7 and 403.7E1. This item was tabled pending additional information and guidance.

Ms. Clark made a motion to approve Josh Morgan as Curriculum Director. This moves Mr. Morgan to a 260 day contract for the 2022-2023 school year and adds an additional \$10,000 to his contract for 2022-2023. He will receive an additional \$5,000 for the remainder of the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Aulwes made a motion to approve 10 Fold Architect + Engineering for future projects. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the purchase of lunch room table from Premier + FE for Columbus Elementary in the amount of \$18,073.74. Motion carried, 5-0.

Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the purchase of a bell/intercom system for the Chariton Middle School. The total for this system is \$32,105.37. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Aulwes made a motion to approve the purchase of three buses from Hoglund Bus Company. The total purchase for three buses will be \$312,000. Motion carried, 5-0.

Mr. Aulwes nominated Kyle Curtis to the Chariton Community School Board to replace outgoing member, Stephanie Clark. Ms. Clark is vacating due to a family move on January 17, 2022. Mr. Curtis will become active on January 18, 2022. Motion carried, 5-0.

Discussion Items

Mr. Achenbach led a discussion on the ISASP Results.

Ms. DeHoedt and Ms. Dittmer led a discussion on the Superintendent search.

Reports, Communications and Announcements

Committee reports were given.

Principal reports were given.

Mr. Aulwes made a motion to adjourn. Motion carried, 5-0. The time was 7:26 pm.

Casey DeHoedt, Board President

Kylie Dittmer, Board Secretary